Monday, May. 27, 2002 - 8:44 p.m.
Learning to navigate in a whole new sea.

(That was a metaphor, see, like, the sea is like my life, get it? I'm so deep. No that wasn't a pun. Um, yeah, this title should probably end now.)


I think I'm suffering from sensory overload.

There's so much going on in my life right now. I really really like it, but it's so completely different from my old lifestyle, I'm not always sure how to handle it. Now when the phone rings, it's often actually for me. Now I usually have plans on Friday and Saturday nights. Plans. Can you believe it? Me neither. I just hope I don't become one of those people who feels like they have to do something just because it's Friday or Saturday night. One of those people who makes casual conversation and asks random other people what they're doing that night on a Friday or Saturday just because they assume that everyone does something on Friday and Saturday night. Ugh. I so don't want to be one of those people.

So all of a sudden I've got friends, a boyfriend (whom I actually classify as an amazingly good friend also, and not merely as "The Boyfriend"), homework, and all that internet stuff I do, which is increasing day by day. First it was just this diary, then came RipeCam, then RipeLog, then Atypicalgoddess.

I feel so busy these days, but in reality I don't have much on my plate right now. It's simply a lot more than I'm used to. I'm only taking one university course, have only a few good friends I'm hanging out with, and a boyfriend whom I see semi-frequently but don't spend massive amounts of time with every single day. I don't even have a job. I really do need to get one, though. I can barely afford the social life I'm living with the money I've got right now (read: nothing). Right now I'm wondering if I should look for work before I go and dye my hair blue, since it may be more difficult to get hired with blue hair. Then again, I'd really like to work at a place in which blue hair is welcome ... but I can't guarantee I'd be so lucky.

James was telling me how he really wants to just do all of these funky things ... like cutting his hair all haphazardly and dyeing it any colour (which he's already done), and get various piercings and that sort of thing, because he realizes he won't be able to do any of this once he's reached a certain age, and now's the time to go crazy. I guess I sort of feel the same way. Although I have a feeling I'll still be looking fairly funky well into my forties and fifties, there are certain things one simply can't pull off at that age. Ever see women in their thirties or forties dressing like teenagers? Don't you feel embarrassed for them? Certain people can get away with more than others at any age, but you have to draw the line somewhere, I think.

So yeah, I just want to make the most of these years, I suppose. I did this sort of thing in high school, but it was always more for shock value than it was for funky/aesthetic reasons. This time I'd like to just create a somewhat "out-there" look for myself that just really appeals to me visually. If I dye my hair blue and it looks all wrong, I'll scrub at it vigorously and then dye it some other colour. No real harm done; it's only hair.

But enough about hair for now. I have work to do for class tomorrow, and I should really get cracking on it so that I don't have another incident like the one last week.

I'd like to close off by saying that James rocks my world, and I love him.

Bye.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?