Tuesday, Jul. 20, 2004 - 2:05 p.m.
Back in my rut

Well, I'm back.

It was a great vacation, but not nearly long enough. It served it's purposes in that I got back in touch with most of my family (with some notable exceptions whom I'm assuming I'll be able to see on my next trip there -- and yes, there will be a next trip, and yes, it will be within a year or so, I hope to god -- if I give a bit more warning than I did this time), and in that James and I managed to see some pretty nice places and things that I was no longer too young to appreciate.

The first week there was great. The second was decent, though a bit stressful and lonely for me, since James was gone and I also had no car. One thing this trip definitely did was make me determined to get my driver's licence. I'm tired of feeling stranded and dependent on others to get places. The public transit system in Toronto is so good that it's easy to put off learning to drive, but I'm not so sure I want to live here for the rest of my life.

Oh, and I never did do anything about my camera situation. We did get some pictures during the first week, before the battery ran out, but that's it. I'll have to compensate for that the next time I visit, and take zillions of pictures. The trouble with me is that it often doesn't even occur to me to take a picture of someone or something until after the fact.

I didn't really realize it before, but BC is the only really geologically interesting province in Canada, which makes the plane trip there very exciting, and the plane trip back a little depressing. The change doesn't even happen gradually. You get up above Toronto and you see this giant metropolis getting smaller and smaller .. then after that it's just fields, fields, fields, everything's flat, you see a few lakes, blah blah, this goes on for hours, and then suddenly .. there's mountains. And lush evergreen forests. And a coastline. And that's when you know you're in BC.

It feels weird, after being in BC and being around family all the time, I'm back home where I never see my parents. My mom's always out doing her thing or working, and the last time I saw my dad was around my birthday in January. I'm seeing him on Saturday, and then for all I know it could be another several months before he calls me and we do something again. I don't like it. It's depressing. And I don't know how to address it with my parents. Maybe I'm too old to feel this way.

I'm going to start looking for a job again, and I've just discovered that I no longer know how to write a proper resume. The one I have now is far too wordy and detailed now that I have more work experience, and I need to tone it down without making it boring and unappealing. Also, it seems I've lost the phone number of the reference I had for my last job (how I managed to do that, I have no idea, and I'm beyond furious with myself right now), and not only does he not work there anymore, but the entire staff there has changed and no one even knows him, so I have no way to contact him. And it's not like I have a whole lot of references. I've been using my dad and an old teacher for ages now, and it looks suspicious when you claim to've worked somewhere and then can't provide a reference from them. All this trouble to get a job at a lousy coffee shop or something so that I can pay to take a couple of courses. When am I ever going to move forward and be able to move out and support myself? I'm feeling so much self-loathing right now.

Everything here is stressful and depressing. I want to go back on vacation.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?