Thursday, Dec. 18, 2003 - 3:18 p.m.
Excitey Things

I got a digital camera! Wheee! It was a Christmas and birthday present from my dad. There are many disadvantages to having a birthday somewhat close to Christmas -- and mine's almost a whole month after Christmas, unlike poor Boo -- (ie. packages sent from relatives reading "MERRY CHRISTMAS .. AND HAPPY BIRTHDAY!", containing one cheap gift, or worse yet, a crisp five dollar bill in a card reading the same thing from an uncle and aunt who either think I'm still ten years old, or think that five dollars is still a lot of money, but bless them, they do care), but there's an advantage as well. See, when I want something outlandishly pricey, I can just ask for it as a combo Christmas/birthday gift. Which is what I did this year. And my dad isn't big on surprises .. he told me he'd get me what I asked for, then gave it to me when James and I visited him on the weekend, so that I'd be able to take pictures before Christmas. So now I just need to figure out how all the features and stuff work, and how to put them on my computer. Then I can start taking actual decent quality pictures for RipeCam instead of the fuzzy crap you see now.

I've done a bunch of my Christmas shopping already, but more still needs to be done. I've got James' family covered. James' present is the absolute best. I'm so excited to give it to him. Last year I got him a friggin' teddy bear. Hey, shut up, we'd agreed not to spend a lot of money. Of course, then he surprised me by visiting me in Windsor and made my gift look like poo, but it was a cute bear, and it looked just like the one I had when I was little. Anyway, I think I'll do a bit better this year. Hee!

This Christmas my uncle's family (the family I visit from Windsor) are coming to our place for a change, and they're bringing their two dogs. I'm thrilled, since it'll probably be the only time my mom ever allows a dog, let alone two, in our house. So it'll be my favourite relatives: Uncle Wayne, Aunt Leona, cousins Safra, Devon and Keitha, dogs Sally and Andy, and apparently my mom's also invited her aunt Lise, my great aunt, whom I think spent christmas with us when I was eight or nine, but I don't really remember her at all, so it should be interesting. I'll try to get photos of everyone and everything. I should also try and get pictures of the 'Ssaugites so I can refer to people James and I hang out with without confusing all the non-'Ssaugites who read this thingy.

Oh, so yesterday morning I spent nearly an hour trying to capture Nox, who escaped from the cage at some point the night before. For some reason she seemed to think I was going to kill her and eat her. Man, gerbils are fast. The nice thing about rats is that when they see you, they want to play, and when they hide, a piece of food will bring them out immediately. Gerbils just can't seem to get used to me. Anyway, I think I need to find a more secure way to keep the gerbils in their cage. While Nox was out, she managed to chew up a large portion of the little dustpan broom. There were bristles everywhere.

Oh right, and that whole issue with James' family has been resolved, thankfully. Turns out his mom mentioned it to Pat when she was all doped up on morphine after her operation, and then Pat got concerned because he'd actually had a woman trick him into getting her pregnant when he was around twenty years old, and he thought it would be easier if he got James' brother to talk to James, so ... yeah. Anyway, the point is that they now know I'm not some baby-grubbing witch. And that's good.

Anyway, I need to do more Christmas shopping and I can't believe I'm still sitting here, so, yeah. Later.

P.S: Man, I can't believe I forgot to mention this, but James got a car! Woohoo! He gets it for real tonight. No more taking the GO for me! Eeeeee!


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?