Wednesday, Dec. 03, 2003 - 1:13 p.m.
You've gotta be kidding me ...

I'm frustrated.

This is my fault, really. I should know better, I really should.

Alright, so here's what happened.

Last Tuesday, I missed a day on my birth control pills. I believe I'd gone to bed early and taken off my watch, which gives me an alarm every night at 10 pm telling me to take my pill. Oops. OK, so I missed a day. So Wednesday night at 10 pm, I took two pills; the one I'd missed the night before, and the one for that night, just like they tell you to do if you miss a pill. No biggie, I hadn't done any funky stuff for a few days, I should've been fine, and I don't forget to take the pill often.

Anyway, I slept at James' house that night and I was still there after he left for work early Thursday morning. I felt sick, which can happen if you take two birth control pills at the same time, right? Well anyway, James' mom arrived home from grocery shopping just as I was about to leave, and she offered me a ride. So we were talking, and I told her I wasn't feeling well. I mentioned that I wasn't sure if it was because I was eating differently and my body wasn't used to it, or if it was because I'd missed the pill the other day and had to take two the night before. OK, stupid me, I realize now I shouldn't have gone and mentioned to my boyfriend's MOM that I missed a day on the pill .. or even anything that would indicate that I'm sleeping with her son, even though she's been aware of it for some time. But at the time, I sort of forgot I was talking to James' mom .. in my mind, I was just talking to another woman, whom I figured might be able to relate.

So anyway, she didn't say anything about that or look at all perterbed at the time, she just said "oh, yeah?" or something like that. I thought nothing of it.

Then last night on the phone, James mentioned that his brother talked to him, and said something like this:

"James, there's something I'm concerned about, and Pat [their mom's new husband] is concerned as well ... um, I know that Lara said she missed taking the pill one day last week and had to take two the next day .. and she often talks about babies and wanting kids and stuff .. and sometimes girls will like, subconsciously skip taking the pill because they want to get pregnant .."

At this point James interrupted, likely somewhat annoyed:

"Yeah, believe me, you have nothing to worry about."

"So you don't think she would--"

"No."

"Oh, OK."

ARGH.

Since James' mom was the only person I mentioned this to, this means she obviously told everyone in James' family that I missed a pill one day, despite the fact that when I told her, she acted nonchalant.

It doesn't bother me that his family would be concerned about his girlfriend missing a pill. What bothers me is, first of all, that his mother felt the need to talk to the whole family about it, rather than just talking to James or myself, and second of all, that they all actually think I would try to scam James into getting me pregnant. OK, so James' brother said "subconsciously", but I'm not entirely sure that's what he meant. He doesn't usually use words like that, and I think he might've been confused, and actually meant "deliberately" or something.

Yes, I do want children some day, absolutely. But no, I do NOT want to be pregnant right now. I want to be married, living in either a house or a somewhat spacious apartment, and for us to be financially stable. I'm not about to get myself knocked up right now just because I'm realizing how much I want to have kids.

And really, the only times I've been talking about babies around James' family are either when we're talking about Krystle's pregnancy, or when we were visiting James' mom in the hospital after her hysterectomy. See, Pat jokingly mentioned that James' sister and I had better listen to James' mom, because one day we'd probably be in the hospital for the same operation, so I jokingly said "Hopefully I can get some kids in before then.". Yeah, I want to have kids before I reach the age where I might need a hysterectomy. OK, so I want kids before I'm in my forties or fifties .. my GOD, I'd better get pregnant NOW! I only have TWENTY YEARS!

Seriously. Am I wrong in thinking this all got blown way out of proportion?

But again, yes, I realize this is my own fault. Never, under any circumstances mention birth control to your boyfriend's mother .. at least not if you're telling her you missed a day. What was i thinking?

So now I'm going to feel all weird and uncomfortable whenever I'm around his family members. Perhaps it's a good thing I'll be spending Christmas at home this year.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?