Sunday, Jul. 07, 2002 - 2:49 p.m.
Uncomfortable shoes should come with warning labels.

I went to James' house yesterday and stayed the night. I was wearing some oh-so-chic new clothes ... a dark pink tank top, a short black skirt (OK, knee-length, which is very short for me), and brand new black flip-floppy shoes (the kind that a lot of people call thongs, but not me, because when I think "thong" I think Monica Lewinsky). My toenails were (and still are) painted a dark glittery pink which matched my top. How very feminine of me. I could never wear pink when I was a redhead ... so it's a major novelty for me now. Crystal will be proud.

So I was fairly happy with my appearance when I left my apartment yesterday. Then, as I walked to the bus stop, I realized the straps of my flip flops were digging into the delicate flesh on the tops of my feet. The five minute walk wore off a layer of skin where it rubbed. Ouch. When I met James at the bus stop in Mississauga, we headed to his place, and I walked at a barely crawling pace. Ugh, the pain. By the time we got there, I had open, watery blisters on top of my feet. Lovely. Good thing we didn't do much walking around. We almost went to a nudie bar with James' friend Todd, his girlfriend Erica, and a few other people, but then James realized his ID was missing. Shitty, eh? He still can't find it. I've never been to a nudie bar before .. damnitall. Anyone wanna take me?

So James & I had fun anyway. We watched Fight Club ... he'd already seen it, I hadn't. Nice and disturbing flick. James has a lot of those, it seems. I'm not much of a movie watcher, so I'm not sure what my taste in movies really is. I've found most of the movies I've watched with James interesting and thought most of them were good movies, but I'm not sure I'd watch them on my own. Either my disturbed mind or my short attention span might get the better of me if I didn't have James next to me. How his presence helps me to focus, I have no idea. It just does.

So yeah, on the way back to the bus stop today to go home, I ended up walking barefoot on cement most of the way. It was uncomfortable, and my feet got filthy, but wearing my shoes was just too damn painful. Next time I try on shoes, I swear, I'm going to circle the store in them at least 10 times before I buy them. These shoes should be illegal. If only the straps were made of some sort of stretchy material so that they wouldn't dig into one's flesh, they'd be fine. But no. *sigh*.

Have a look at them.


Spiffy, eh?


Well, I thought they were.


They went well with my new skirt, too.


They even made me a good 3 inches taller.


But alas, this is what they did to my feet. I will never wear them again.

I think I'm going to dust them off as best as possible and see if I can return or exchange them. They don't show much sign of wear. Besides, I'll need a new pair of shoes to go with my skirt now.

I am such a girl.

OK, I have to go shower and call Crystal soon. I'm off.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?