Friday, Mar. 01, 2002 - 5:57 p.m.
TGIF ... or something. Pff ... I don't even care.

Right. So I met him last night.

After arriving outside C'est What a good half hour late because I couldn't find the damn place, I saw him through the window, waving at me (what can I say, my hair makes me rather easy to spot).

We met. We sat down and talked for a bit. I filled the gaps in conversation with random macabre trivia like "Did you know that February is the month with the highest suicide rate?", as I am wont to do, and also told him a true tale of a very recent experience I had in which I naively went out with a much older guy on what I thought was not a date but rather a friendly excursion, only to find out he thought otherwise, and I subsequently freaked out, lied to him like a motherfucker about having to go home, gave him a fake phone number when he insisted on getting my "digits", and got the hell out of there. I'm sure Ringo was impressed ... "Hi, I'm spineless and dishonest, what about you?", I might as well have said. Perhaps I'll elaborate on that older guy story in this diary sometime, despite the fact that the guy in question has my URL and may very well read it and find out he was given the shaft. Do I win the Evil Lying Bitch Award, or what?

Anyway, where was I? Right. C'est What. So we sat around there and watched bands do their sound checks. He was there to fill in for the drummer of one band in case he couldn't make it, but the guy showed up after all, so we ended up splitting after a bit. We then proceeded to roam the streets of downtown Toronto looking for fun ... and found that "fun" in Toronto at night tends to have a cover charge. Both of us being somewhat poverty stricken, we continued to wander. By around 11 pm, we were rather cold, and thought perhaps we should duck into a random coffee shop or something for a bit. Unfortunately, they all seemed to be closing. Downtown Toronto at night, and nothing's open. Crikey. In Montreal I bet this wouldn't happen. Toronto may seem badass, but it's really just Nerd City. "Hey, if we go out and live it up at 7 we can be home and in bed by 10! Woohoo! Rock on, man!" How sad.

So we ended up sitting at a cheap 24-hour coffee place mocking the horrid "music" playing for a bit, until I got tired and he had to head off.

Sounds like a blast, doesn't it?

Honestly though, it was decent. Meeting new people is fun. I need to do it more often.

Anyway, today I was supposed to hang out with my friend Frank, but there was some sort of hot glue emergency at his art school (I thought it best not to question it), and someone else had other plans for him tonight that he couldn't get out of ... so we're hanging out next week instead. Ah well. Guess it'll be another night at the bookstore for me ... say, maybe I'll make more of those cards. Yeah. Speaking of which, someone found one and sent me a nice e-mail the very first night I started leaving them. It was a guy that works at Indigo. How cool is that? I didn't think I'd get feedback so quickly. Woo!

Well, I'm off to go and figure out what to do with my evening.

May you all have a splendid Friday night of sane, sober, cautious fun.

Or wild reckless drunken dirty fun. Whatever your pleasure.

Later!


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?