Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2001 - 11:30 p.m.
The Obligatory Hallowe'en Entry

Well, October 31st is almost over. Happy Hallow's Eve to everyone.

We don't get trick-or-treaters in this area ... although when I looked out the apartment window today I noted that most of the people walking around outside were in costume ... how festive! That's right, they were all dressed up like little business men and business women! Little suits, little ties, briefcases ... the whole shebang. I imagine it must have been embarrassing for them ... all showing up in the same costume. Oh well.

I have a weird pet peeve about Hallowe'en costumes. I think they should be Halloweeny (heheh ... she said "weenie"). I mean, spookiness is part of the whole Hallowe'en spirit. The idea was always to dress up as evil spirits. Witches, ghosts, mummies, goblins, werewolves, demons, Bill Gates, etc. How did all these other costumes get mixed in with it ... princesses, bunny rabbits, Teletubbies (OK, that one is spooky, I'll give it that) ... seriously, that ain't Hallowe'en if you ask me. The spooky, haunted, ghoulish, atmospheric type stuff is what makes Hallowe'en fun. That, and those trippy Simpsons Hallowe'en specials. I dunno ... maybe I'm just anal. Sure, dressing up as a nurse or a go-go dancer or a giant dildo might be fun, but it just doesn't fit the occasion, in my opinion. That's why I think that in addition to Hallowe'en, there should be a day of the year where people wear costumes just for the hell of it. Whatever they want. Unlimited possibilities. It would rock. I think I'd go as a bottle of Heinz Tomato Ketchup. Why not?

(To all you spelling freaks at Diaryland chat ... it's a product name, so I spelled it correctly. Ketchup = product name, catsup = what it's called when Heinz doesn't make it. OK? OK.)

THE ODDEST THINGS I HAVE SEEN PEOPLE DRESSED AS FOR HALLOWE'EN OVER THE YEARS:

- A kitchen table

- A christmas present

- A slice of pizza

- A stick of Juicy Fruit

- A TV (a box around their head)

- A bunch of grapes (purple balloons ... she was in my class in grade 2, and it was actually a pretty good costume except that she couldn't sit down or they'd pop)

- Your mom

(Somebody slap me ... please.)

Say, did you know that Jehova's Witnesses don't celebrate Hallowe'en? They don't participate in the whole giving out candy to trick-or-treaters thing ... they won't even answer their doors. Yeah, I guess it's because they just don't like random strangers knocking on their doors and bugging them or something ... (OK, I heard that somewhere else, but I forget where, so ... whatever. I thought it was vaguely amusing.)

Well, it'll be midnight in five minutes ... and Hallowe'en will be over. Just like this entry ... the Hallowe'en entry.

See you soon.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?