Tuesday, Oct. 30, 2001 - 11:45 p.m.
Horses mark their territory downtown

On my way to Chapters earlier this evening, I spotted a large pile of horse manure on the edge of the sidewalk on Wellington street.

Wellington street. Right in the business district of downtown Toronto.

Horse shit.

There is something very, very absurd about seeing a pile of horse shit in downtown Toronto. Especially in this area. Who rides horses here? People trying to be quaint, I suppose. There was some sort of event, or an old fashioned buggy ride. Hell if I know. I don't keep up with what goes on in this city ... I can't keep track. There's some protest, march, marathon, or parade going on close by just about every damn day. Which is actually pretty cool ... I mean, it's entertainment, right? Even if you're just walking down the street and reading the protest signs of the day ... you've always got a good conversation piece. In London and Burlington all I had in the way of quirky roadside entertainment was reading the ever-changing signs out in front of the churches, the kind with those moveable plastic capital letters (the one I'll always remember was: "IF YOU FEAR GOD, YOU NEED NOT FEAR DEATH" ... err ... run that one by me again?). Here, there's always something bizarre or mildly disturbing to get a kick out of. I like that. I'm glad I'm not a jaded city girl yet ... I can still take notice of the oddities. Everyone else around me seems so ... blas�, so accustomed to the craziness that they no longer see it. Or they do, but they ignore it and put on that aloof front that is so very Torontonian. I suppose it comes from being aggressively panhandled by one too many vagrants that reek of urine.

But horse manure in downtown Toronto ... it's like the reverse of seeing a minor editing mistake in a historical film ... like catching that glimpse of half a car in Lawrence of Arabia ... or spotting sunglasses on one of the extras in Braveheart. It's funny and out of place.

(Not that downtown Toronto doesn't have its share of shit ... but you know what I mean.)

I bought a big bag of Ruffles potato chips at Union station tonight. Guess what it cost?

$4.59!

Four fifty fucking NINE!

I'm not sure why I still bought it ... I didn't realize how much it was until the guy rang me in. Either he overcharged me by mistake, or that store's got some seriously insane prices. I should've said something ... but I was tired and wanted to go home and didn't particularly feel like questioning it. But really ... $4.59? I may as well have gotten a meal at Harvey's or McDonald's if I was so hungry ... it would've cost me less.

Speaking of artery-clogging food ... I've been eating a lot of it over the past three days. The result? I've lost another two pounds since Saturday.

That's messed. Don't you think?

OK, so I had to get up early for our new cleaning ladies who showed up at eight o'clock in the friggin' morning today (this was not easy, considering I didn't get to bed until 5 am that night). I'm really tired, and The Simpsons will be on in a few minutes, and I think I'm going to go turn on my TV, lie down in bed, and drool. OK?

OK. Goodnight.

PS: Wondering what the hell last night's entry was all about? Don't worry. I'll try and explain it all later.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?