2001-10-11 - 3:00 p.m.
attraction repels

I've been thinking more about the whole hair goo situation, and it occurred to me that there are an awful lot of things people do in order to supposedly attract the opposite sex (or same sex, as the case may be), with the major goal of getting some booty, that can actually cause awkwardness, messiness, disappointment, and embarrassment when their goal is actually achieved.

Makeup is a good example of this. Sure, you may think you look like a ripe little vixen when you have it on, and the guy you're after may think so too. But what happens when you start making out? Makeup doesn't take well to sweating or heavy skin contact, and I'm betting the guy isn't really enjoying the taste of that irridescent lipstick you're smearing all over his mouth and face.

Here's another thing: body-slimming undergarments. You can't browse the lingerie department without seeing them; these thick, suffocating spandexy things that promise to "slim, shape, and smooth". Who cares if you can't breathe? At least your ass looks firm and your stomach looks flat, right? Oh, but wait ... if the purpose of wearing these torturous contraptions is to get some action, what happens when the clothes come off and he sees this 1930s-swimsuit-looking get-up you have on underneath? What happens when it comes off, and your not-so-firm ass and even-less-flat stomach spring free from their bounds, jiggling in all their untoned glory? What then? Sure, he'll probably still get busy with you, but I imagine he'd feel somewhat deceived, don't you? The way I look at it, a guy who needs to be tricked in order to get dirty with me is not a guy I want to be getting naked with, and a guy who doesn't mind my non-firmness upon seeing me naked probably won't be bothered by it to begin with, while I'm fully clothed. Am I right? Hmm? I hope so. I sure as hell don't wanna try and pour myself into those nasty-looking things.

So far, the only thing I can think of that guys do is that hair goo thing. And compared to the things I mentioned above, it seems like hardly anything, doesn't it?

I don't know why I care so much about all this stuff. I guess I just find it odd that what's supposed to look appealing always seems to become unappealing once we get down to the nitty-gritty (where the hell did the expression "nitty-gritty" come from, anyway? Doesn't it sound fruity to you?).

People are weird.

And I still don't like the hair goo.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?