2001-06-16 - 12:08 a.m.
Guilt, Pleasure, and Ani DiFranco

Hot damn, that Ani DiFranco really puts on a great show. I was at her concert at Fort York tonight, and it was A-MAZING! Now there's a woman who was truly meant to play live. And man, can she ever pick her backup bands ... they were THE shit. Yowzah. Killer instrumentals ... and of course she plays a mean guitar. I like her newer material ... not so much in CD form, but in concert she just ROCKS. I love how she's added that jazzy groove to her folk-punk sound. She's smooth yet edgey. Gritty yet mellow. Her onstage presence is overpowering. She talks to the audience. She's warm. She's funny. She's charismatic. She has astounding energy. She came onstage with her band and just ripped right into those chords, jumping and dancing around, brutally strumming a guitar almost as big as she was (in other words, a regular-sized acoustic). And her voice ... my god. Strong. Throaty. Passionate. Amazing how such a tiny chick could have that kind of powerful presence. Now there's a real performer. Wow. It's funny, I'd gotten rather apathetic about Ani in terms of buying her new CDs and listening to the 7 or 8 older ones I own that I purchased on a mad spree a few years back when I suddenly became a rabid Ani fan. Somehow she just didn't seem so cool anymore ... I thought I'd outgrown her. Until tonight. I saw her at the Amphitheatre back in '99 and she was amazing there too. I now realize that Ani DiFranco is an incredible artist who's true forte is live performance. Her CDs are good, but they don't even begin to do her justice. She must be seen live to be fully appreciated. Never mind her politics, her activism, or the self-righteousness that permeates much of her music (particularly the earlier stuff). See and hear that woman live, with her band, in her element, and none of that matters .. she is what she is. A fabulous off-the-wall experimental folk diva.

Power to live music! No amount of programming, recording, or sound production will ever replace the live experience. Isn't music great?

So ... apparently my dad's quite the ladies' man these days. He's dating three women at the moment. Three! My short, slightly paunchy, moustached dad is out there bringin' in the babes. Looks like things are finally going well for him .. he's always in good spirits these days. Even before the women. I think he's beginning to realize the error in his past thinking ... the notion that misery is a way of life. Why are there people like him? People who feel guilty at the mere thought of having FUN? Why??????

Most importantly ... why do I feel that way???


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?