2001-06-14 - 2:41 a.m.
parting ... sweet sorrow?

This entry is not funny at all. It's serious. I'm having trouble bringin' in the funny these days. I've just got a lot on my mind ....

We've sold our house. We're moving out July 13th. Moving to Toronto. "We" being my mom and I, that is.

Part of me is excited. I love Toronto. Yeah, it smells, it's crowded, it's sticky, it's polluted, it's noisy, it's too big for its own damn good. But I love it anyway.

I've never liked Burlington. Ever. In all the ten years I've lived here. The only thing here that I don't want to leave is Brendan, and he won't be living in this hole much longer either. sadly, he's not moving close to me ... he's going to university and he'll be about an hour's train trip away. Not ideal ... but bearable enough for us to try and stick it through. Which I'm extremely glad we decided to do.

Now the only thing that's strange to me about this whole moving business is the way I'm feeling about leaving Burlington. I have no idea how to say goodbye to a city I've lived in for ten long years. I need to somehow say my peace ... get my closure before I'm gone for good. Visit those key landmarks of my time here. Here's where I think I'll go:

- School: That includes both elementary/middle schools AND the high school I attended. I was very unpopular. A true outcast most of the time. So many once bitter memories now just seem poignant in their sadness. Pain always feels different when it's a memory ... bittersweet rather than angst-ridden. Makes me think.

- The Lake: I used to always walk or ride my bike down the gravel path along the lake during the summer a few years back. Just me by myself. It often smelled of sewage by the water ... but sometimes it was beautiful. I remember that well, but haven't been along that path at all in years. I wonder if it's different. Or if that path is even still there. Why do I not know this? I should go & find out, I think.

Wow ... that's it. That's all I need to visit. I guess I never really left the house much ... I never knew where to go or what to do.

And now my stay in Burlington is finally coming to an end.

Good riddance?

I think so.

But not in a spiteful sense. Just in the "finally moving on" sense.

Off I go.

(Well not yet ... I still have a month here. But you get the idea.)

Onto bigger and better things.

Goodbye soon, shit town. I promise you I hold no grudges.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?