Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2005 - 2:56 p.m.
I can't believe it's almost 3 freaking A freaking M

Yeah I know. I resolved to write at least three times a week, and I haven't been. Granted, I didn't say I'd write here three times a week, but I haven't been writing anywhere else either.

I've been online a lot, but mostly in hiding. I was getting far too overwhelmed by messages. I'd end up trying to hold conversations with five or more people at once, and, as a result, be unable to hold conversations with a single one of them. So now I talk to hardly anyone. What can I say, I'm not really good at exercising moderation.

I'm still addicted to OkCupid. Yesterday my friend Emily-Jane (whom, incidentally, I met through OkCupid) informed me that the site has a "hot list" page, on which you can see all the users rated as good-looking by people who were picture browsing (no, I'm not on it .. can you fucking believe it?). So I checked it out today, and noticed that I have very, very poor match and friend scores with 99% of the people on the hot list, male and female. I find that interesting. Not surprising, but interesting. I also noticed that I'm not attracted to most of them in the slightest .. particularly the guys. They all look like stooges and rapists.

Anyway, I wrote in the paper journal while at Second Cup a week ago, so I think it's about time I posted that.

Wednesday, January 5, 2005, 4:42 pm

So I got myself a snazzy new paper journal for 2005. The old "Ripe Tomato: The Paper Edition" was too big for my new bag, was ugly, and was getting kinda scrappy anyway. It did serve me well though. Got me through some tough times. I got it during my stay in London, Ontario in September of 2001, possibly the most difficult month of my life. I think it might've been the only thing that kept me sane. I'll never throw it away.

So I figured it was about time I started writing in cursive again instead of printing in my journal like a third grader. Most of you never see my actual writing, so it makes no difference anyway, but new journal, new look, new year, etc. Oh, and thank you, new friend Kat, for helping me pick it out. I hung out with Kat today and she showed me some cool places. We went to a great independent children's book store (that had some grownup stuff too) called Mabel's Fables, complete with the requisite independent book store resident cat, Mabel, who was snoozing on top of the register monitor. No independent book store is complete without a resident pet of some sort. I want to own a book store with a resident dog ... or ferret perhaps .. or maybe a parrot. Yeah. And I'll be the eccentric book store lady with the parrot on her shoulder. I'd like to wear an eyepatch, too, but that would be too much. And everyone knows pirates aren't literate anyway.

Kat also showed me a great second hand book store that sells cheap Mad Libs (no, not used ones). Remember those? I liked them when I was a kid. So we bought a "Haunted" Mad Libs and filled one out in a park in the freezing fucking cold. It was fun.

It really is good to be making new, local friends. I relied so much on James (and his local friends, who are not so local to me) before, but now I have friends who are my friends in my city, from different circles and all that. I like variety.

Of course, this really means I need to keep my cell phone charged from now on. I only discovered yesterday that if my phone hadn't been dead on New Year's eve, I would've had people to spend it with. Sorry Dan, you've really been bearing the brunt of my poor cell phone etiquette. Please don't give up on me. I've resolved to keep the thing charged as often as possible in 2005.

This is a particularly nice Second Cup. I'll have to come here more often. I do like these ambient yuppie/hipster overly-priced chain coffee shops. No Tim Horton's for Ripey.

Damnit, I've heard this song that's playing before, and I like it, but I don't know what it's called or who does it, and I can't hear the words because people are talking too loudly. Now the only way I'll find out is by humming it to people until someone recognizes it. I guess I could ask someone working here, but I'm shy. I've only done that once, and the song was Sweet Side by Lucinda Williams. I'm glad I asked. I love Lucinda. Not the old twangy country stuff, but the more recent stuff. She's so scrappy-sexy.

Anyway, I think I'm going to check out the overpriced shoe store and then head home.

Back to the present.

I tried to go back to that Second Cup this evening and write more, but something wasn't right. I think it was the music. It was awful. Avril Lavigne and other crap. I felt slightly nauseated and uninspired. So instead I finished my tea and wandered around in the foggy drizzle until I felt like going back home.

Pretty damn exciting, eh? I bet you're even more annoyed with me now for not keeping you deprived of updates on my life.

I'm going to close with the Mad Libs that Kat and I did. The words we used to fill in the blanks are bolded.

THE KING OF CREEPY

Benjamin King has written some really pearly, spooky books which have been made into super-fusty movies. For instance, there was "Children of the Weetabix" and "Cujo the marmot." And then there was another one about table legs, which was called "Pet middle earth." A very successful movie was "The Flipping," which starred Jack Simmons and Shelly Dwyer. It was Jack's first big movie and since then he has become a filmy star and has been nominated for 500 Academy Fumets. There are other very slippery scary films that Mr. King did not write. For instance, the stupid classic called "The Chain Saw Basket," which can really curdle a person's laundry detergent. If you see any of these movies, chances are you won't sleep very hungrily that night.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?