Sunday, Jan. 02, 2005 - 4:43 a.m.
Perhaps "get more sleep" should've been on the list ...

So I didn't have plans for New Year's eve last night.

On the bright side, no drinking means no hangover.

Anyway, my last two New Years were spent at hotel room parties getting plastered and trying to pants anyone who walked by me, and making out with a girl, respectively.

This New Year's was bound to pale in comparison with the last two. Well, unless I'd done something crazy and trekked out to some far-off place like ... Virginia. But I didn't.

I did, however, decide to go out, as you know if you read yesterday's entry.

I went out earlier in the evening and headed to Loblaws to cash some cheques, only to discover they'd closed early for New Year's eve. So instead I decided to just keep walking, do some contemplation of the clich�d "another year gone by" variety, and NOT go back home and sit in front of the computer with no one to talk to because everyone else is "cool" and had "plans".

I ended up going down to the Beaches and wandering about. It was pretty dead. The only place open was Starbucks (a guilty pleasure of mine .. I know .. ugh .. but it's rare I actually go there and I'm sick of defending myself). So I thought maybe it'd be a good idea to get a warm drink and write down my New Year's resolutions. Then I remembered that I didn't have my paper journal with me because the sleek new bag I got for Christmas from my mom (kudos to her for knowing how to pick out things for me that totally work for me but that I never would've thought to get for myself), while elegant, isn't big enough to hold my big ugly paper journal, so I didn't have anything to write them on. So I walked around to see if I could find a store that sold notebooks, but the only other place open was a newspaper/magazine store, and the only thing they had to write on were postcards.

So I bought one. I wanted to scan it, along with the resolutions I wrote on the other side, but I discovered that when Nox last escaped, she not only chewed up the wires to my mouse and mic, but also the one to my scanner. Goddamn, she's proving to be one expensive gerbil. Jesus. And what has she ever done for me? Nothing, damnit.

Anyway, so yeah, I had to take a crappy webcam picture of it instead.


This is right by where we used to live, that's why I picked this one. Plus it was somewhat less pretentious than the rest of that touristy crap. Hell, the CN Tower's only half visible! The Flat Iron building in the centre is the landmark for me, not the skyscrapers behind it. Bleh, what a shit picture. Perhaps I'll try again in daylight and replace this image tomorrow.

In a way, it was almost better than writing it in my journal .. a postcard is a memento to hold onto .. I can take it with me and look at my resolutions to remind myself of what I promised myself I'd do.

I didn't want a list of chores for the new year, like "lose more weight" or "go to the gym" or anything depressing like that. Those never work. I wanted my resolutions this year to be inspiring and happy, for the most part.

So here's what I wrote.

NEW YEAR'S RESOLUTIONS FOR 2005

1. Listen to more music. Better yet, more live music.

2. Make new friends.

3. Get G2 licence.

4. Read more books.

5. Get out of the house at least 3 times a week for purposes other than work or errands.

6. Write at least 3 times a week.

7. Apologize less.

8. Keep a dream journal.

9. Submit written work to something ... anything at all.

10. Start listening to your gut AND your heart.

That last one was totally cheesy, I know. But I seem to always be listening to one and not the other. I'm always either being a foolish, hopeless romantic, or I'm sitting on my ass not taking any chances whatsoever. I need to find a balance, somehow.

I'm happy with my resolutions.

And now it's 5 am and I need some fucking sleep.

Goodnight, and Happy New Year.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?