Saturday, Mar. 22, 2003 - 7:07 a.m.
I am up ridiculously early on a Saturday morning.

I am in an absolutely amazingly great relationship. I love James more than I've ever loved anybody, feel more comfortable with him than I have with anybody, and damnit, he's just so great.

But that doesn't mean I don't still remember what it feels like to be hurt.

See, every time I hear about someone's relationship not going so well, or bad incidents, or bad breakups, it's almost like I'm right back there, freshly dumped by someone and miserable. Don't get me wrong. Being single is not a bad thing in itself, not at all. But being recently broken up with ... well that's a different kind of single altogether, isn't it? It's not a fun, free kind of single. It's almost like you're still in a relationship ... only without any of the benefits. You can't stop thinking about the person. It's not easy to go out and date other people and have fun ... unless it just involves drinking yourself silly and snagging some casual sex, in which case you'll probably feel even worse than you did before when you wake up the next day.

But then, I guess I'm generalizing.

Anyway, I woke up at six o'clock this morning and was unable to get back to sleep. It seems I keep falling asleep earlier and earlier, and wake up at hours I never thought I'd see again. It's very odd.

Oh, right, so I got my hair cut and bleached yesterday at my favourite punky salon. I recently decided I'd like to have white-blonde hair for some reason, so I made an appointment. The only problem is, it's not finished yet. She bleached me until I was a pale shade of opal at the roots and ends, and a washed-out apricot colour in between, then told me that she couldn't continue to bleach my hair that day, because if she did, my hair might start to break off. She said my hair needed to rest for several days, and then I could go back and she'd blonden me all the way. Sounds a bit nutty, but I could tell she knew what she was talking about. So until next week I'm stuck with this odd sherbet-coloured hair. I'm wondering if it was worth all of this drama. Oh well ... no point in turning back now, since I've already paid for everything I've had done so far.

I know I look good as a redhead, and I know it suits my personality, and I still do love red hair and will undoubtedly go back to it after a while, but you know ... every once in a while I need to change it. Besides, I know it will look better than that inky black I dyed it last time. Also, it's more springy/summery, right? Meh, whatever.

Anyway, as long as I'm up at 7:30 am, I might as well get some laundry done. Because I'm just that much fun.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?