Thursday, Mar. 13, 2003 - 11:14 a.m.
Work, work, work.

OK. I was supposed to write an entry about a week ago, but I didn't. Shoot me.

I blame my job. It's beyond exhausting. The store was a bloody mess before the new manager came, and now my days are spent trying to improve things there. For some reason, despite the fact that I'm usually the only girl working with three guys most days, I'm always being asked to do the grunt work while they all assist customers. Moving heavy boxes of stock and transfers. Carrying large wooden shelves from one end of the store to the other. Seriously ... if you've got a job like that to be done, do you call on one of the 6-foot guys who works for you, or do you ask the skirt-and-platform-wearing 5-foot-2 girl to do it? It's all very strange to me. Now, if I were a bad salesperson who didn't know how to talk to customers, then I'd understand. But I'm a decent sales girl, and he knows that. Not only that, but it's hard to make commission when you're busy lifting heavy objects while the smooth-talking sales guys snag all of your customers.

OK, aside from all of that, I don't mind my job. Sometimes I even enjoy it. I just need more comfortable shoes. I won't last another day in those blasted platforms. I swear, I'm about one tiring day away from becoming a birkenstocks-and-socks-wearing granola type. *shudder*

Anyway, no more job talk.

So I got two more rats! Two little baby girls. Have a look:


This is Olive, the smokey-coloured, white-pawed sweetie.


This is Minerva, or Nerve for short. She's an agouti/cinnamon (a mix of brown, black, orange, and grey), white-tummied little cutie.

Girl rats are different than boy rats. They're far more hyper and speedy. While Milo and Seamus are content to waddle around at their own pace, frequently pausing for pets and behind-the-ear scratches, the girls zip around like mad, sniffing everything in sight, and hanging from the cage bars like it was a jungle gym. Both sexes are excrutiatingly cute though, there's no doubt about that.

Much to my dismay, there are actually an alarming number of people out there who don't think rats are cute or cuddly in the least. In fact, upon learning that I own four of them, they tend to shudder or recoil in horror. I didn't know this. You'd think I would, but really, I just can't look at any of my rats and comprehend how anyone could find something so sweet, furry, and cuddly to be gross and fearful. They also don't seem to realize that there's quite a difference between domestic rats and wild rats. To these people, all rodents are filthy, vicious, and full of disease. Bah. What ignorance.

I'm hungry. I think it's time for a breakfast of macaroni and cheese. Delicious.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?