Friday, Feb. 28, 2003 - 1:07 p.m.
I could've woken up to the sensation of cold gerbil claws on my face.

We have a new manager at the store now. He works us hard, but we're in a large downtown clothing store that needs to run like a well-oiled machine, so it's understandable. Well, at least I can understand it. I can't say the same for several of the other employees, who are now looking for new jobs out of a strong aversion to the new boss.

The way I see it, a job is a job, and I need the money.

Gerbils are escape artists, you know. Although Nox and Hecate live in an aquarium with a closed wire mesh lid, this morning I discovered Nox on top of the tank, vigorously chewing on a piece of plastic, which I soon realized was a piece of the gerbils' water bottle, the third replacement bottle so far. *sigh* ... Does anyone know where you can get steel water bottles for rodents?

So I've been eating at this vegetarian/vegan food place on my breaks at work, and I've noticed that veggie cuisine is a very scattered sort of thing. I wanted a better word than "scattered", but I can't think of one right now, so it will have to do. Anyway, what I mean is that sometimes it's delicious, and other times it's downright awful. Sometimes I'll order something that seems a bit weird and be amazed at how tantalizing and wonderful it is, and other times I'll order something that sounds delicious, but ends up being the most vile thing I've ever tasted. But then, that could just be my personal taste.

My spare time these days tends to involve reading books on natural witchcraft, and browsing small pagan shops ... and I'm enjoying it, and feeling for once like I can identify with a religion/practice/dedicated-hobby/thing, but I don't want to talk about it, because ... you know, it could most definitely be thought of as FLAKY. Then again, maybe I oughtn't care about that.

Did I just say "oughtn't"?

You know what I don't like? Loud people. Actually, sometimes loud people are OK. There's offensive loud, and then there's enthusiastic loud. Enthusiastic loud is cute. Offensive loud is when someone is loud NOT because they're telling an exciting or funny story, not because the listener is far away, but because they're just LOUD. They have no volume control. And these are the people who always laugh really loudly, too, and always at things that aren't funny. And usually they smell, too, and they wear stupid-looking clothes which they just have to proudly tell you how little they paid for, and open their mouths when they chew. And they like to touch you a lot, just to make you squirm a little more. They calculate all of this so well -- the loudness, the annoying laughter, the putrid odours, the bad table manners, and the touchy-feeliness -- that they manage to make it seem as though they are truly and completely oblivious to the rest of the world, and have no idea how offensive their very presence is to most people. They're very good at looking unaware, but I know better, yes indeed.

I'm not exactly sure how that rant got started, but there it is.

I'm going to go now, to feed my ratties and gerbils and make sure that all of them are still in their cages where I left them.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?