Monday, Jan. 27, 2003 - 7:22 p.m.
Don't you get sick of always coming up with little titles for these? Because I do.

A close friend of Dawn (my dad's girlfriend), died in the hospital of pelvic cancer last night.

I didn't know her well, I met her once in the summer when she was healthy (or so she seemed). She was in her sixties but looked good for her age, and seemed pretty fit. I also met her again yesterday, in the hospital. She wasn't well; she was on morphine and was drowsy and unable to speak, although she did hold our hands and look us in the eyes when we greeted her. She looked different, very pale and practically skeletal. Dawn told us that just the day before she was quite alert and conversational. We pretty much knew when we visited that she wouldn't likely survive the cancer, but no one expected her to go that night.

I didn't know her well, but it's still very sad to think that someone you saw alive and well is gone only a few months later. I've lived my whole life relatively untouched by death (all of my grandparents and the rest of my relatives are still alive and well), and I have to wonder how I'll deal with it when it happens to someone close to me.

Hell, even thinking about my rats dying upsets me.

Anyway, let's change the subject, shall we?

James and I visited my dad and Dawn on the weekend. My dad cooked me a birthday dinner (very much NOT part of my diet, but I figured I could cheat for my birthday, for some reason), which was great, and poured us plenty of red wine. It was a nice evening. I also got a new scanner and a laser colour printer as birthday presents, because my dad can claim most computer-related purchases on his income tax, or something. So I got a pretty good deal. He even got me photo paper and a photo inkjet cartridge, so that I can print off my webcam photos. Woo!

I have to stop saying "woo". It's so ... something.

I never did get a call back from that clothing store. I went there today to ask the manager if they still want me to work there, but she wasn't in. They said she'd be in tomorrow, so I'll go back. Calling them would be easier, except that I can't remember if the manager ever actually told me her name or not (I'm pretty sure she didn't), and I'd feel stupid and unprofessional calling and just asking for "the manager", especially on the odd chance that she did in fact give me her name.

In other news, I'm getting pretty sick of the black hair. It looks OK, but the roots are already growing in, and I have to put on all this dark makeup every day just so that my hair doesn't look ridiculously unnatural and out of place on my head. So today I bought one of those lightening kit thingies. I'm hoping it will strip out the black. We'll see how it works. I think I really need to stick to red hair. It's always been good to me.

I've just now decided I really need to get my room clean and organized, and that I need to do it right now.

I'll be back.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?