Saturday, Oct. 26, 2002 - 11:43 a.m.
Gerbies

Well, they're not a kitten, but nonetheless, I am pleased to announce I've made two tiny additions to my posse.


Meet Nox ...


... and her friend Hecate.

Yep, I bought gerbils yesterday. James and I went to a dingy little pet store called Pet Stop, and asked about getting a gerbil or two. The guy working there showed me that there was a little pile of newborn baby gerbils at the back of the gerbil cage, so he wasn't sure if he should give any gerbils up yet as he wanted to keep the gerbil parents there for a bit, and he wasn't sure which ones they were. The babies were like, the size of my thumbnail, and completely hairless, with little closed eyes, all squirmy on top of each other. Awwww. Anyway, he had a closer look at the gerbils and managed to locate two pretty, shiny jet black females that he was sure weren't the mothers. He told me that if I bought one gerbil and later decided to add another to the cage, there was a strong possibility that they'd fight it out to the death. So I decided to buy the two of them together to avoid messy gerbil carcass and whatnot.

Whee!

I told my mom about them when she got home. I got yelled at, and then she calmed down (somewhat) when I told her that James would take them if they caused any trouble or smelliness. Apparently gerbils aren't as smelly as hamsters and other rodents, and their cage only needs to be cleaned about once every two weeks. So that's good. I'd actually wanted rats, but that store didn't have them, and I can't seem to find many pet stores in Toronto, though I'm sure they exist. This store also had a couple of chinchillas, which are about the size of rabbits and a bit weird looking, but are apparently trainable and bathe themselves in dust. I considered getting one, but then thought of the conniptions my mom would go into if I did. Judging by her reaction to the little wee gerbils, I'm glad I didn't do that.

I know gerbils aren't a big deal, but to someone who's never been allowed to own pets (aside from those two turtles I was forced to get rid of), it's pretty damn cool.

Right now they're sleeping all cuddled up together in their little plastic house that came with the cage. Awwww.

I wonder if I can move them back into my room without waking them up ...

Excuse me, I'm going to go attempt that now.

Bye bye.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?