Saturday, May. 18, 2002 - 10:26 a.m.
Off to Windsor

I'm off to Windsor with my mom in a couple of hours. For those who haven't been reading this diary that long, we go to Windsor periodically to visit my uncle's family, which includes my mom's brother, his wife, and their three daughters ... one of whom actually moved out last year but we'll probably see her anyway. She's the one I told that story about when we visited them on Christmas and she took me to a bar, got me pissed drunk on shooters and then stood over me in the bathroom stall while I puked violently and scolded: "Ohmygod, Lara, you have got to learn to drink more."

There's always so much going on at my uncle's house. There are two dogs and two cats and two teenage girls ... one of whom I can't possibly describe as anything other than completely insane ... in a good way.

I think I'm going to bring my webcam with me. I don't know if their computer has a proper plug for it, but if it does it'd be cool to get some shots of the girls and the pets. They're a fun family.

So I lost two more fans in the last 24 hours. I know my constantly talking about losing fans is probably annoying and probably isn't helping me gain any, but it's really starting to get to me. My banner is still up, so if anything I should be gaining fans like I was before when Andrew first put it up. I think my writing is just starting to get ... worse. And I think it's because I suddenly have a life.

Not because now I don't have time to write entries, no. But because my entries used to be all about my life as a lonely internet addict. I knew how to write as a lonely internet addict. I knew how to make my loneliness and desperation amusing, somehow. I'm not as familiar with the life I'm living right now, and I don't always know how to make it entertaining. Ben gave me this analogy on the streetcar last night, and I think he's right.

I don't know. I just want more fans. I still dream of having more readers than him eventually. What I want to know is how he got so popular. I mean sure, I think his diary is good. Funny. Fun to read. But how did so many people find out about him? How did more than 2,600 list him as a favourite diary? How? Does anyone else on Diaryland have anywhere near as many fans as he does? How did he become so ubiquitous? I don't get it. I don't.

I have to go and shower and pack and get ready to go because my mom is breathing down my neck right now, and I fear her wrath.

I'll write soon ... I'll attempt to do an entry from Windsor if possible. If not, I'll be back on Monday.

Happy May two-four.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?