Wednesday, May. 15, 2002 - 11:26 a.m.
School

I went to school yesterday.

I got there 20 minutes late (it's a big damned campus, I got lost, OK?), and I forgot my books at home, but I went to school. For the first time in two years.

Luckily I didn't end up needing any of my books for the first class.

So now every Tuesday night until August 6th I'll be gettin' my learn on at York University. All I need is a B in this course in order to be admitted to York as a full-time student in September. I know that the only way I'll get anything lower than a B is if I don't hand in assignments, so all I really need to focus on is doing the damned work. And if I do, I'm sort of kind of maybe thinking I'm probably capable of an A, really ... I mean, I'm a sharp kid, right? Heh.

The professor is short, pudgy, and completely bald, save for the unruly grey hair around the back and sides of his head. He also wears a brown fedora which he had on his desk during class, but was wearing when I saw him on the bus afterward. Fedoras are cool. His briefcase was really tattered. I remember thinking how when I'm his age I really don't want to be taking a city bus home with a bunch of students and clutching a falling-apart briefcase ... it made me really want to get my goddamn driver's licence all of a sudden ... well, that and ensure that I manage to get a well-paying job at some point in my life. Anyway, I think I like the prof. He's kind of soft-spoken and maybe a bit jittery ... he spoke slowly and explained things well. So that's good. As long as I don't hate him, I'm sure I'll be fine.

The others in the class were fairly young, though I think most of them are older than me, since I'm *just* old enough to take that course. I'm not sure though. I'm guessing the intelligence levels of all the students will be really varied ... I mean, most of them are like me and didn't graduate high school ... but there can be all kinds of reasons for not graduating. Some of them may just be complete knobs, while others may have just been disgruntled with the education system or depressed or distracted or drugged up or whatever. I already know that a few of the students in the class are complete morons, just based on the questions some of them seemed to feel no shame in loudly asking. I can't remember what they were, and I'd rather not single any of them out just yet anyway, since it seems like I end up directing everyone I ever meet to this diary eventually and I'd rather not make any enemies.

We had to write an in-class essay on one of four poems we'd read. I'm a decent writer, but I don't do well under time constraints like that (we had about 20 minutes), especially without a computer ... I feel the need to edit quite a bit. I didn't end up finishing my essay, but he said he wasn't expecting us to, necessarily. Besides, it only counts for 2% of our final grade.

Man, is it ever weird to be talking about percentages and grades again. I feel like this is one of those dreams I have where I'm back in school ... except usually in those dreams I'll suddenly realize that I'm several weeks or months into a course, and I haven't done any work, or I haven't shown up for any of the classes, or I missed the exam, or ... I'm back in middle school .. fucking grade eight, because I failed and had to go back to that horrible place ... none of these things have ever actually happened to me in real life, they're just dreams, you understand. Well, the not doing any work or not showing up for classes things have actually happened, but when they did, I never "suddenly realized" it ... I was always fully aware of my destructive behaviour.

Oh well, I don't know what more to say. I just hope this course goes well. I really, really do.

Oh hey, I almost forgot ... HAPPY BIRTHDAY BEN!


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?