Thursday, Mar. 14, 2002 - 7:45 p.m.
Screw self-respect, it never got me anywhere.

My name is Lara, and I am entertainment-challenged.

*hangs head in shame*

It's true. I have decent taste in music and other such things ... but I'm lazy. I don't watch TV, aside from the odd Simpsons episode. I never watch Much Music anymore. I don't know what any of the VJs names are aside from Sook-Yin Lee (former VJ I'm now told, see, I didn't even know that), Rick the Temp (that's right, it's been so long since I've watched Much Music that they were still calling him Rick the Temp), and Master T. Actually I don't even know if Master T still VJs. Does he? Do I care? Enh. Not that VJs are important, but the point is that I don't watch Much Music or even listen to the radio (EVER), so I don't know what's "new on the scene". Actually I don't even know if "new on the scene" makes sense or is an uncool thing to say, but my guess is that it probably is uncool. Especially if I feel the need to put it in quotations. I mean really. If I was saying this out loud instead of typing it, I'd probably be making that dorky quotation hand gesture thingy.

I'm not hip.

Wait, I lied. I know who a few other people are. I saw Bradford Howe on Queen street a couple of days ago walking somewhere, and I did actually recognize him .. once I was close enough. Last time I saw Bradford Howe on TV he had .. long hair .. or a bandana, or something .. hell, it was way back in July or August, that's how long ago it was. So before he was right in front of me, all I could see was some guy with kinda haphazard messy-ish hair and glasses ... and um .. those of you who've been reading a while know how I feel about that look ... *drool* .. um .. so anyway, basically I was checking out Bradford Howe. Unknowingly.

Heh.

My ignorance is an embarrassment.

I can't remember the last time someone said to me "You know that song by *insert name of moderately popular band signed within the last 3 years or so*?" and I actually had a reply other than "Uh .. nope. Sorry. Who?".

*sigh*

I feel like an old person who just isn't up on all them newfangled groups all the young whippersnappers are listening to.

*shudder*

This is not good. I'm too young for this.

Not only that, but I never write about anything to do with pop culture and entertainment in this diary. No hysterically funny criticisms of the latest bubblegum phenomenon, no tales of concerts watched on TV, no current band/artist obsessions. What kind of 20ish post gen-X hipster am I?

I didn't used to be like this. I used to be into all of that shit.

It's not because I'm getting older. It's because I'm lacking a social life. Seriously. Whenever I have friends or I'm dating or whatever, I end up way more informed about the current "scene" (ack, again with the quotations .. please shoot me) than when I'm a loner. I end up watching things on TV with other people, and hearing about bands and songs and movies and all that crap from friends. I like it. But when I'm alone, I can't bear to stare at a TV screen and sit through commercials or flip through channels hunting for something decent, or flip through radio stations hoping for a good song. With people around, I can mock the bad commericals and awful programming and get a laugh out of all that crap I have no patience for when alone. Friends are good for that. My being entertainment-aware depends on me having friends.

Like I needed another argument against being a hermit.

Really though ... have you noticed that all I ever talk about in this diary is a) my appearance, b) my moods, and c) yet another account of my trip to the local bookstore or coffee shop? Isn't that stuff getting old? I believe the content of this diary depends on my being entertainment-aware, and my entertainment awareness depends on whether or not I have a social life.

So. In the interest of improving this diary, I beckon you:

Be my friend.

No really.

Be my friend.

Or date me, that works too. Are you male and cute? Hell, are you female and cute? Hell, are you male OR female and average, even? Hell ... are you a being with a pulse? OK, now this is just starting to sound desperate. Um .. never mind. Just be my friend, I suppose that's good enough.

Hang out with me. Watch TV with me. Listen to music with me.

Goddamn it, this diary depends on it!

Do you live nearby? Like, you know, Toronto/Mississauga, and surrounding areas that aren't hours away?

If so, what the hell are you doing just sitting there when the Tomato desperately needs your help?!

Now, some of you may be thinking this is just a cheap ploy to gain friends.

Bitter cynics, you are! I'm selflessly doing this for the good of my readers who demand quality updates!

Now, you noble few who know I wouldn't dream of such diabolical scheming may apply to help this cause. E-mail me at: [email protected]. Tell me you want to help. Don't hesitate. This diary needs you. Oh yes it does. It's gotten boring as hell and we both know it.

If you have a charitable bone in your body, you'll volunteer for this worthy cause!

...

Oh man. That's it, I've officially sunk to a new low I didn't know existed. Did you read all of that crap I just typed? Christ almighty.

Oh well.

At any rate, everything I've said in this entry still stands. Because, you know, I really have nothing to lose.

Well, except readers, that is.

Bye for now.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?