Thursday, Feb. 07, 2002 - 11:07 p.m.
I'm moving to England for the ads

I've broken my vow to stay off chat and instant message programs all week. I'm talking to Chiv on msn right now, and it's not the first time this week I've broken down and talked to him. But ... he's so .. nice ... and amusing ... and loveable .. and British .. and, well, I'm weak, what can I say.

*Sigh*

Aside from that, I've held to my vow fairly well, I suppose.

I've decided it's best for me not to send people long, heartfelt e-mails that I just pour myself into, yes, best not to do that, thus avoiding having them not respond, and feeling rather disappointed about it ... probably also best not to write about it in a diary that I know they read from time to time thus making it appear as though I am begging for some sort of response and ... yes, I'll shut up now, shall I?

You know what ad really annoys me? That fucking pizza ad ... Delissio or McCain or whatever it is, the one where some tool and his girlfriend are arguing over whether or not the store-bought pizza is take-out, and she finally lets him win the argument, tells him it's take-out, and throws the box away. I'm not going to dissect it and tell you WHY it's such a lame ad ... it doesn't deserve that. It's just incredibly bad.

Oh, and speaking of horrid ads, apparently Britain is bombarded with tourist ads begging "Come to Canada" and such ... here's a screen capture from one of these:

Words fail me. I was going to make some sort of hilarious commentary on this image, but really ... I think it speaks for itself, doesn't it.

I think the problem is that Canada really doesn't have any strong selling points. Chiv (who sent me that ad picture, incidentally), summed up our advertising angle (or lack thereof) just now: "Come to Canada ... Look ... we have ... red stuff ... and Canadians ... and look at me! I'm Canadian .. and I'm red!"

I'm envious. Some ads are so horrendous, they sort of come full circle and become funny. The pizza ad? Doesn't make it. I demand more kitschy ads, damnit! I have to get my kicks somehow ... *sigh*. I'm moving to England just for the commercials.

Hmm. This is another one of those times where I want to wrap up the entry, but I can't think of a good note to close on.

Again, I won't bother.

The end.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?