2001-10-10 - 5:00 p.m.
I smell like Goodwill

You know what I've been doing all day? Laundry.

Every single item of clothing, bedding, and towel I own needs to be washed. Not because it's all dirty, but because everything I own now smells like my London apartment.

My London apartment (and technically it is still my apartment) has this smell that's a weird combination of years and years of cigarette smoke that will never completely come out of the upholstery, old furniture, and some kind of citrusy-scented Glade Plug-In that the landlord put there in an attempt to get rid of the cigarette smell left behind by the previous tenant. Actually, it kind of smells like a second-hand clothing store, only with less dust and mothballs.

It's not like it's a terrible smell or anything, it's just that I don't really want to be smelling that place now that I'm out of it, you know? Unfortunately, it may take a while to get rid of; the shirt I'm wearing still smells that way after being machine-washed quite thoroughly. If I had buckets of money like my mom, I'd just buy all new clothes. But I guess that will have to wait until I get a job ... that is if I can afford clothes after paying the rent my mom is now charging me to live in her swanky apartment. *Sigh*.

Don't feel too badly ... I'm being a total drama queen. She's not actually charging me anything until I have full-time work, and I seem to recall her telling me my rent would be around $200 a month, which is only about 8% of the full monthly rent for this apartment. Go ahead, do the math if you must.

Speaking of my mom, she's just informed me that she needs to use the computer. So I think now would be a good time to end this entry.

I'll write more ... possibly later tonight, and definitely sometime tomorrow.

Adios.

(What's with all my "Ciao"s and "Adios"es? Am I just another pale Irish dweeb with a subconcious desire to appear multi-cultural? Who knows.)

Er ... see you later.




last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?