Sunday, Jun. 16, 2002 - 12:02 p.m.
I don't like needles.

I haven't been writing enough lately.

This weekend ... James came over. It tends to be on weekends that we hang together for large, concentrated amounts of time, usually with one of us sleeping at the other's place. That's why my diary, log and sometimes even my cam seem to sort of ... well, die on weekends. I don't get to see James often or even at all sometimes during the week, so .. yeah. Maybe I'll try and do more log entries on weekends, since they're nice and short, and since I generally have plenty to talk about when I'm hanging with The James.

So James stayed over both Friday and Saturday night, which rocked. Unfortunately, last night he got hit with a nasty headache when we met up with Crystal for drinks. I don't think the beer helped much. We started off at The Black Bull, a pub on Queen street with awful, awful service, then, after getting fed up, went across the street to our usual haunt (mine and Crystal's, that is), The Bishop & the Belcher, where the service is sometimes good, sometimes mediocre, but wonderful compared to the ghastly Black Bull. At that point James' headache was getting alarmingly bad. He was all, like, hunched over, holding his head in his hands and everything. I felt so bad for him. I've never had a headache in my life (I shit you not. Aside from a very mild ache if I haven't had my morning coffee, I simply don't get headaches.), so I had no concept of what he was going through. I sympathized anyway, though, because he really looked like he was in quite a bit of pain. Crystal and I had ordered a pitcher of Stella, and James said that we shouldn't leave yet because we hadn't finished it, but we ended up getting the bill anyway. What kind of girlfriend would I be, sitting there, chugging beer with my boyfriend sitting next to me, clutching his head in pain? Seriously ...

So we went home and straight to bed. It must have only been 11 pm. Crikey. Oh well. We're not geezers until we make a habit of going to bed early. A splitting headache allows for an exception.

James left this morning, without a headache, fortunately. He had to get to work around noon. I hate saying goodbye to him because I know I won't be able to see him for at least several days or so. Damn his living in Mississauga. Why do people live there, anyway? I mean, really. Mississauga. Pfft.

Oh yeah, so on Friday I went to the doctor's for a physical and a blood test and whatnot. I hate getting blood tests. I hate needles in general. I'm a big pussy when it comes to needles. So yeah. I'm about to get a blood test, and the nurse is examining the veins in the crook of my arm, and commenting on how they're so small and deep and hard to see and how she hoped she'd be able to do this. This always happens. I have freakishly small veins, apparently. I used to get blood tests once a month because I was on this medication that required it, and sometimes they'd put the needle in one arm, and miss, or the needle would slip out before they were done. Then they'd try it on the other arm. Once the needle slipped out of both arms, and they made me come back the following week because the areas were puffed up from the needles and they wouldn't be able to do it. All the while I'm sitting there closing my eyes and trying to breathe deeply, because needles FREAK ME THE FUCK OUT. *shudder* So anyway, right, this nurse on Friday decided to give me the needle in the back of my hand instead, because my veins were more accessible there. What she didn't tell me was that it hurts a fuck of a lot more on the back of the hand, that it takes about three times as long to take the blood out, that it bleeds a lot more when it's over, and that it leaves a massive bruise on one's hand. Gah! Click here and here to see what I'm talking about ... unless of course pictures of bruises totally gross you out. In that case, don't click here or here.

So today I need to start reading this book for my humanities course. I have to write an essay on it in a little over a week, so I really need to get cracking. I don't know why I continue to put shit off like this. I'd have so much less stress in my life if I would only just get things done sooner.

Ah well. I'm off to read now. Have a nice day.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?