Monday, Apr. 15, 2002 - 11:22 a.m.
Care to enlighten an ignorant plebe?

Do any of you Toronto dwellers happen to know what it is they're filming directly outside my building?

I'm quite curious, and I'm feeling out-of-the-loop.

Last Sunday, James and I were walking on Queen street, I guess right between University and Bay street, and there were all these people, standing around, in pairs or small groups ... lots and lots of people. On the other side of the street we saw what looked to be filming going on. We couldn't make out who the actors were, unfortunately. Then some take-charge chick with a megaphone type thing yells out "PLACES EVERYONE!", which sort of frightened me, because loud women in orderly positions scare the crap out of me for some reason (Why are powerful women so much more intimidating than powerful men? Am I the only one who feels that way?) ... and so James and I were like "Oh, these people must all be extras ..." ... then this guy ahead of us started like, waving us through, as if to say "Move the fuck on, commoners, you're not part of this", so on we walked, and when James asked the guy what was going on, he just said they were filming a scene ... he didn't say what. Damnit.

So I almost forgot about all of that, until last night, when I got home from Crystal's place around midnight (I went there for dinner. It was awesome; she's got a great little pad I'm somewhat envious of. She made some kick-ass stir fry, read my palm, and showed me how to knit ... I totally suck at it so far, but I'm working on it.), and I noticed some bluish light coming through the windows. I opened the blinds to take a look, and this is what I saw:


This is a set of incredibly strong lights on a long-ass crane type thingy ... it was a lot closer to my window than it looks here, and I'm all the way up on the 16th floor.


It's impossible to see in the picture because of how bright it was, but there was basically a small crew and one of those white sheetlike screen thingies that the bigass lights were aimed at .. um, I'm sure all of these things have names, I just don't know what they are, OK?

So yeah. I'm wondering if it's all part of the same thing that was going on last Sunday. Can anyone fill me in? Am I just an idiot? Is this some event that everyone knows about but me, or is it some big secret?

Heh. I should watch the local news or read the paper more, or something.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?