Sunday, Jan. 27, 2002 - 3:07 p.m.
Stupid clothes

I'm doing laundry today, because I completely ran out of clothes.

Completely.

I mean, literally. I have no pants, no tops, no socks, no underwear, no nothing. Just my pajamas, which I'm wearing as I type this, at 2:45 in the afternoon.

See, I hate my clothes. Most of them are old and don't look good anymore, and the few items that are new had something go wrong with them, like they shrunk the first time I washed them, or a thread came loose (cheap pieces of crap), or they got grease-stained (OK, so I'm 21 and I still can't eat without spilling something on myself. I know it's pathetic. And no, I will not wear a bib. Shut up.). ARGH. And because I hate my clothes, I end up never doing laundry, because washing my clothes means I'm anticipating wearing them again. And I don't want to. Of course, I don't buy new clothes, and then I end up in a situation like today.

I have enough money to buy myself new clothes. The trouble is, I have a very hard time finding clothes I like that fit me properly. For starters, I'm short. I'm 5'2. I don't mind this, except that only certain stores sell jeans and pants that aren't too long (and don't even talk to me about getting them hemmed ... first of all, they never look as good that way, and second, it's not just the legs that are too long, it's also the crotch of the pants. Which isn't easily altered. And pants with a too-long crotch are NOT a good look, OK?), and they don't always have them. Another thing is that I'm not thin. I'm not that big, but I'm not thin. Plus-sized stores' clothes are way too big for me (and I wouldn't wear most of them anyway, have you seen some of those clothes? It's insulting ... it's like they're telling you "Well, you're already fat, and have no hope of being attractive, so here, wear this floral-print muumuu, what do you care, you don't have any self-respect anyway, right?" Goddamned sizeist bigots.), but I have trouble fitting into regular store clothes quite often, because the way it works is that once an item of clothing becomes wider, it also becomes longer. This means sleeves that hang way past my hands, and underwear that comes up to my neck (well, slight exaggeration there, but still). I do occasionally find clothes that fit me, but my selection is quite limited, and there are certain things I simply will not wear, such as tapered jeans, drapey clothing, or anything with an elastic waist (I may as well just wear a t-shirt that says "Welcome to Frumpsville" on it). There are also certain colours I don't like wearing because they don't flatter me. It's hard finding something that meets my requirements. I can spend an entire day shopping and find nothing I'd be caught dead in. Clothes shopping is very discouraging for me.

But I need to do it. And soon.

*Sigh*

Maybe I should learn to make my own clothes.

Heh. Talk about work.

Excuse me, I have to go put the laundry in the dryer so that I can wear clothes I don't like anymore.

Back later.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?