2001-10-21 - 12:29 a.m.
Notice me.

I am now a gold member.

Stay tuned for pictures and such, now that I can post them ... sometime this week when I get around to it. And yes, I will get around to it.

Just think, you'll finally be able to see me in all my ripe glory.

Try and contain your excitement.

So I ventured into the Diaryland chat thing today for the first time ... and was thrilled to see Ms-M there, and later on, Affable Alien. I had no idea people whose diaries I actually read used the chat thingy. Thought it'd just be the young kids with the adorable nicknames who say "kewl" a lot (chat rooms always seem to be overflowing with those) ... but I was wrong. Guess I'll be using the chat thingy more often now.

It's weird though ... I'm kind of inept when it comes to online chat. I suddenly become painfully slow at typing, and the funny just escapes me. Or so it seems. Now that I think of it, I'm that way in person as well. Slower and less witty. I didn't think my social awkwardness would manifest itself online as well. It must have something to do with the immediateness of it all ... the lack of forethought, the lack of ability to edit one's words, etc. It's a confidence thing. I try too hard to control my communication with others for fear of ... rejection, I suppose. The computer allows me to hone my words, thoughts, comments and such. Maybe that's not such a good thing. I just think too much. I think to the point where everything becomes almost surreal.

Speaking of surreal ... does anyone else think that the feeling of going offline (after being on the computer for hours) and doing real world stuff is similar to the feeling of waking up from a dream? After I've been on the computer for several hours straight, when I get up and leave, I feel really dazed ... like I'm trying to re-familiarize myself with real life. "Oooh ... solid ground. Tangible objects. Dull, muted colours. Mommy, where am I?"

It's a weird, unsettling feeling. I think I'm going to try and come online for several shorter periods of time each day from now on, rather than spending half the day on the computer and feeling like a zombie. I have a feeling it's healthy to stay acquainted with the real world. Just a theory I'm willing to test.

You know what I wish? I wish it were acceptable to just walk up to people in public that seem interesting, and say "Hi, I'm Lara. You look like someone I might get along with. Wanna grab a coffee?". I mean, OK, it's not like there's some kind of rule saying you can't do that or anything ... but I wish it were more common. So that it wouldn't freak people out. Especially here in Toronto where everybody's so damn anal. Including me. *Sigh*. Crazy city folk, we all are.

You know what would be really, really cool, though? If someone walked up to me and did that.

I think part of the reason I had my hair dyed such a shocking hue was because I wanted to catch people's eyes. Avoid being lost in the crowd. Make people take notice. It's something. Something that is slightly unusual, that momentarily grabs people's attention, but something that isn't just weird for weirdness' sake, or just to shock. In downtown Toronto, cherry red hair is not freakish, it's quirky. It's uncommon enough to catch the eye, yet not so uncommon as to be offputting or cause gaping in the streets. And that's perfect for me.

Besides, everyone knows redheads are nothing but hot, fiery balls of passion in the sack.

I'm feeling rather hungry, so I think I'll end this entry right about now. It just occurred to me that I forgot to tell you all about my mom's party last night ... oh well. Perhaps tomorrow.

Goodnight.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?