Wednesday, Jul. 27, 2005 - 10:21 a.m.
Employed

Remember that interview I had last week?

I got the job.

Score! It's my first office job. Even if I hate it, I'll finally have something to put on my resume as work experience other than "Retail Whore" or "Human Sponge".

The job is at an outbound call centre for a shareholding company.

Now, I know what you're thinking ... "That's telemarketing, you poor dumb girl! You took a telemarketing job!".

Don't worry. I'd sooner stand on Jarvis street wearing nothing but sandwich boards reading "SUCK FOR A BUCK" than take a telemarketing job. No, all I'll be doing is making calls to existing shareholders, giving them information on their shares, and trying to get them to vote on what should be done with said shares over the phone. That's about all I know so far. I start training tomorrow, and I'm sure I'll learn more. But I was promised there would be no telemarketing or sales of any kind involved.

I'm not sure how I'll like the job, since I'm not exactly "thick-skinned" (despite all the retail I've done), and it does involve pestering people at home (even though I'm not selling anything, and even though, presumably, these people care what happens to their money), but hopefully I'll get used to it. If I start to stress out, I'll just say to myself "You're making 50% more than you did in retail AND you get to sit down.", and that ought to put things into perspective.

But first things first .. I have a couple of weeks of training to complete, at the end of which I'll be tested. Trainees have to get a minimum of 85% in order to stay on board. They didn't make it sound too hard, but we'll see how it goes.

The important thing is, for now, I've finally got a freaking job.

Woohoo!


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?