Sunday, Jun. 19, 2005 - 10:47 p.m.
The Trip

I got back from Virginia a week ago.

I had a lot of fun. Virginia's very pretty, but I can't say I really went out much. It was unbelievably hot and sticky (and I thought Toronto summers were nasty) and the great outdoors didn't seem all that appealing. Luckily the company was good.

So I finally met Bob. Yeah, that's his name. Seriously. Why does that name sound so generic and made up? I feel like I'm lying every time I mention him to someone.

"So what were you doing in Virginia?"

"Meeting someone."

"Who?"

"Bob."

"No really, who?"

See what I mean? You'd think it was a lie, too.

Anyway, yeah, Bob. Bob turned out to be just as awesome in real life as he was online, if not more so. I wasn't really surprised though, seeing as there was something like six months of screening involved before we met. Once I got over my initial jitteriness (which lasted much longer than it should have), we hit it off pretty damn well.

As usual, I'm at a loss for words when it comes to talking about him. I hate showing my cards. I hate being a sap. He still makes me tongue-tied, despite everything. I don't know why. It's ridiculous.

So anyway, I was hoping people in Virginia would have hick American accents, but much to my disappointment, they didn't sound much different. And I only got teased a couple of times for the Canadian way I pronounced words like "out". Bob's mom said she expected a Canadian accent to sound more British. Huh?

There sure were a lot of "God Bless America" bumper stickers down there. That was weird. You just don't see that sort of blatant mix of religion and patriotism in Canada. It's one of our more endearing qualities.

So anyway, I promised pictures. Here they are.


The first two days of my visit were spent in DC. We took very few touristy pictures, but this is one of them. To be honest, I don't even know what freaking building this is. What can I say .. historical sites don't excite me unless their history involves knights and wenches and beheadings and stuff, and I'd have to go to Europe for that.


We passed by a sculpture garden that was locked that day, but we managed to get a picture of this weirdass thing through the bars. Is it supposed to be something, or is it abstract? I have no freaking idea, so please help me out.


Now onto Virginia. Bob lives in Charlottesville in one of those storybook-looking neighbourhoods with lots of green hills and white fences and all that. It bordered on eerie.


He had woods right behind his house though, which was pretty sweet.


Virginia has a really nice skyline. Unfortunately, this is the best picture we managed to get of it.


Here's a blurry picture of the pond near Bob's neighbourhood. They call it a lake, which cracks me up. A lake! Look at it! It's barely a puddle! Apparently they call everything a lake in the US.


Here's me in Bob's house. Also blurry. But rowr. You totally want a piece of that, don't you. Don't lie.


This is The Notorious B.O.B, seeing me off at the bus station with bad bedhead.


Did I mention it was early as fuck? I think we only got maybe three hours of sleep. So we look craptactular. We didn't have anyone to take a picture for us, so Bob had to hold the camera at arm's length. He doesn't actually have a double chin.


Here's a slightly better one of him and a worse one of me. If I look cranky, it's because it's early and I'm being lame about leaving. The sad thing is that these are the best pictures we have of us. I'll try and do better next time.

So yep, despite what my expressions may say in those pictures, it really was a fun trip. Hopefully Bob will visit me in Toronto soon enough. He's got a nice wad of Canadian cash as incentive, which I gave him for my share of the expenses during my visit.

Oh, and just to be clear, no, we're not dating. Long distance relationships are highly impractical, blah, etc.

Now that I'm back I've started seriously looking for work. I have an interview at a temp agency tomorrow. I'm just hoping to finally get some office experience. One more retail job and I'll go completely batshit. I can sense it.

I'm off now. Wish me luck for tomorrow.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?