Monday, Dec. 30, 2002 - 11:56 a.m.
Flesh and cellular phones

I officially went vegetarian the day before yesterday. I've made a point of telling James and my mom about it, as well as saying it in this diary, so that I don't go back on it.

I'm doing it partly for health reasons, and partly for, well, you know, not much liking the idea of gnawing on the carcasses of fuzzy/feathery animals when I really think about it. Then again, I don't think too many people do enjoy that thought (avid scoffing carcass-devourers duly noted) ... it's just something we try not to think about. Of course, if studies showed that human teeth and intestines were designed for meat consumption, I'd be scarfing down animal flesh with no moral dilemma. Circle of life and all that crap. But truth be known, I'm mainly doing this for health reasons. I've done my research.

I won't be an obnoxious vegetarian though. I've promised myself that. And I won't even be one of those quietly smug, I-am-superior-but-please-continue-to-eat-your-steak vegetarians. Because really, that wouldn't be cool.

I suppose eventually I want to stop eating dairy products as well, but I'm taking things one step at a time, otherwise I know I'll goof up.

And yes, I will continue to wear leather shoes until someone comes up with a stylish, durable, affordable, and easily accessible alternative. I don't care if that makes me a hypocrite.

So, to change the subject ...

My mom got me a cell phone for Christmas, and paid for a year's worth of use. Wow. I didn't ask for one, nor had I ever thought of asking for one, but it's still kind of cool. I've always kind of shunned cell phones, but I have to admit, they come in handy, and are perfectly acceptable when used quietly and in moderation (in public, anyway). As long as I don't use one of those ultra-irritating ring jingles and keep the phone turned off in class or other inappropriate places, I'm still OK, right? *rationalize, rationalize, rationalize*. I refuse to be an obnoxious vegetarian or an obnoxious cell phone user. I hope I can manage that.

Oh, so I guess maybe I'm sort of keeping this diary after all. Not writing in it or even planning to write in it for a while has sort of inspired me to start writing in it yet again. I guess when it's an obligatory thing, it's just not as easy. When it's not, then the entries just come naturally.

I think I'm going to go downtown today and cash my dad and grandma's Christmas cheques. I need to buy some exciting gifts for myself ... like socks, underwear, bras, shampoo ... heh. Woo. Basic necessities for Christmas. I also need a winter jacket. I always seem to get through winter without one, but this year the cold is giving me nipple erections that could rip through clothing.

I remember when I lived in the suburbs, and going to downtown Toronto used to be this big exciting thing. I'd take the GO train to Union station and head straight for Queen street and make my way through all the cool stores like a pimply teenage tornado. I kind of miss that feeling.

Anyway, time to shower.

Later.


last entry - next entry


older entries latest entry profile notes guestbook cam diaryland


Comments are temporarily out of order until I can afford to get a SuperGold membership again. Yes, that is also why all the images are broken. I apologize. In the meantime, please use the guestbook for anything you may wish to say. Thanks.


Ripest entries on the vine

Huh. - Wednesday, Jun. 21, 2006
Another Diarylander jumps on the LJ bandwagon - Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006
Moving on? - Thursday, Nov. 24, 2005
Because how complicated can elephant hunting be? I mean, they're so BIG and SLOW! - Friday, Oct. 28, 2005
Busted - Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2005



Want an e-mail whenever I update?:
e-mail:
Powered by NotifyList.com

� Ripe Tomato 2001-2005
Don't steal my shit. I'll send thugs. Oh shut up. I do so have thugs. Quit laughing! Look, just don't steal my stuff, OK?